Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Schwob trombonists advance to finals at International Trombone Festival

Four present or former trombone students of Dr. Brad Palmer have been named finalists, alternates, or honorable mention in the most recent International Trombone Festival competitions. Final rounds will be held at the Juilliard School in New York City this summer. Congratulations to the contestants and to Dr. Palmer!

Donald Yaxley Bass Trombone Competition:
Sterling Tanner (BM ’14) - Finalist
Stephen Clayton (BM ’17) – Honorable Mention

Lewis Van Haney Tenor Trombone Competition:
Trey English (BM ’14) – Honorable Mention

Frank Smith Tenor Trombone Competition:
Trey English – Second Alternate

George Roberts Bass Trombone Competition:
Stephen Clayton – Second Alternate

Edward Kleinhammer Bass Trombone Competition:
Sterling Tanner – Second Alternate

Trombone Quartet Competition
Evan Williams (BM ’15) - Finalist
Sterling Tanner - Finalist

Alto Trombone Competition
Evan Williams - Second Alternate

Monday, February 15, 2016

Schwob Students win MTNA, Fordis, LaGrange Competitions

Congratulations to these students who won or placed in the following competitions!

Traian Sturza, bassoon, a student of Dr. Ron Wirt, won the 2016 LSO competition and will perform the Mozart Bassoon Concerto with the symphony on April 19th.

All Schwob School of Music participants earned awards

Congratulations to all the Schwob student performers in the MTNA Southern Division Competition! All of them placed in the competition, which was held in Tampa, FL, in January and included participants from nine states.

The following students won and will advance to the national competition in April in San Antonio, TX:

    Traian Sturza, bassoon, a student of Dr. Ron Wirt, Senior (woodwind)

    Zhou Zhirui, piano, a student of Prof. Alexander Kobrin, Young Artist (piano)

And the following students were selected as alternates in their respective categories:

   Lar’Karra Betha, voice, a student of Dr. Michelle DeBruyn, Senior (voice)

   Victor Hernandez, flute, a student of Dr. Andrée Martin, Young Artist (woodwind)

   CSU String Quartet, coached by Prof. Boris Abramov, Chamber Music
          Eric Tsai, a student of Prof. Sergiu Schwartz
          Leah Bonas, a student of Prof. Sergiu Schwartz
          Mario Rivera, a student of Prof. Zoran Jakovcic
          Maxwell Frank, a student of Prof. Wendy Warner

Schwob School of Music winners will be featured in concerto performances with the Georgia Philharmonic in Marietta, GA in February

Congratulations to the following Schwob winners in the Samuel Fordis Young Artists Concerto Competition:

     Esther Holliday, cello, won First Place in the Virtuoso category, performing the first movement of Dvořák’s Cello Concerto. Esther is a student of Prof. Wendy Warner.

    Sarah Velasco, violin, won Laureate in the Virtuoso category, performing  the first movement of Wieniawski’s Second Violin Concerto. Sarah is a student of Prof. Sergiu Schwartz.

The winners' concert was held on Saturday, February 6 at 7:00 p.m. at Lassiter Concert Hall, Marietta, GA. For more information, see

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Sid Kaminsky Donates 1200 Recordings to Schwob Music Library

The Music Library recently received a large donation of principally jazz recordings from Sidney Kaminsky of Columbus.  Other areas represented in the collection include some popular, blues, New Age, rock, and original motion picture soundtracks. 

Mr. Kaminsky, a former President of the Columbus Jazz Society, hosted a program on Georgia Public Radio for 12 years and, previously, on KCLU in Thousand Oaks and Santa Barbara, CA. We are thrilled to be adding 1200 CDs and 80 LPs to our collection!

2011 Columbus State University