Friday, December 13, 2013

CSU soloists excel at MTNA collegiate competitions

Students from the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University competed in several categories in the state-level and southern regional Young Artist and Senior Competitions of the Music Teachers National Association. The competition requires students to play a full recital program.

First-place state winners included CSU violinists McClaran Hayes and Sophie Wang, oboist Kristen Urbanski, and saxophonist Wesley Phillips. At the nine-state Southern Region competition, Sophie and Wesley were selected alternate winners, and McClaran received honorable mention. Other CSU students who placed or received honorable mention at the state level were violinists Colin Fruit and Valeriya Nedviga, flutist Alexandra Clay, and Jonathan Andrew Smith for composition.

In the MTNA Eastern Division, CSU alumnus violinist Diego Gabete (Artist Diploma, 2013) was declared winner in the string division. Diego will advance to the national competition this spring.

1 comment:

  1. Jonathan Andrew Smith was also honorable mention for composition.


2011 Columbus State University