Friday, December 13, 2013

Columbus State students win Samuel Fordis Concerto Competition

One of the largest concerto competitions in the South, the Samuel Fordis Young Artists’Concerto Competition, has announced that its 2013 winners include two students from the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University. Violinist Likai He, student of Sergiu Schwartz, and clarinetist Ford Fourqurean, student of Lisa Oberlander, will perform as winners with the Georgia Philharmonic on Feb. 22, 2014 at Cambridge H.S.,Alpharetta. Likai will perform Sarasate's Carmen Fantasyand Ford will perform Copland's Clarinet Concerto.

CSU soloists excel at MTNA collegiate competitions

Students from the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University competed in several categories in the state-level and southern regional Young Artist and Senior Competitions of the Music Teachers National Association. The competition requires students to play a full recital program.

First-place state winners included CSU violinists McClaran Hayes and Sophie Wang, oboist Kristen Urbanski, and saxophonist Wesley Phillips. At the nine-state Southern Region competition, Sophie and Wesley were selected alternate winners, and McClaran received honorable mention. Other CSU students who placed or received honorable mention at the state level were violinists Colin Fruit and Valeriya Nedviga, flutist Alexandra Clay, and Jonathan Andrew Smith for composition.

In the MTNA Eastern Division, CSU alumnus violinist Diego Gabete (Artist Diploma, 2013) was declared winner in the string division. Diego will advance to the national competition this spring.

Schwob graduate joins Chicago Civic orchestra

Brady Richards, CSU Class of 2011, was appointed an associate member of the Chicago Civic Orchestra for 2013-14. The Civic Orchestra is the training orchestra for the Chicago Symphony. Across town, his former classmate Manuel Ramos is a graduate clarinet student at Northwestern University. Manuel will return to Georgia for a March 11 solo performance with the LaGrange Symphony as a winner of their concerto competition.

CSU Woodruff Scholars recognized in New York, Atlanta, Moscow

Anastasia Agapova, former CSU Woodruff Scholar and student of Sergiu Schwartz, was recently awarded a full-time first violin position in the Atlanta Symphony. After attending Columbus State, she attended the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia.

Nodir Khashimov,  former CSU Woodruff Scholar and student of Sergiu Schwartz, performed the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto with the Russian National Orchestra under Vladimir Spivakov. He continues to study at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia.

Sophie Wang, 17-year old CSU Woodruff Scholar and student of Sergiu Schwartz, has been accepted on full scholarship to the New York String Orchestra Seminar, to be held in December at Carnegie Hall.

Thirteen students presently hold the Woodruff Award, which provides entering undergraduates a $5,000 annual stipend in addition to tuition, room, and board. Application deadline is March 1st; students must be provisionally admitted to CSU and must submit an audition video via the Internet.

Schwob pianist recognized in Liszt-Garrison Competition

Tatiana Muzanova, graduate student of Alexander Kobrin, received First Prize at the 2013 Liszt-Garrison International Piano Competition in Baltimore. She also was awarded a Special Prize for American Music and the Franz Liszt Prize.

2011 Columbus State University