Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Courtney Jones to join FAU faculty

Courtney Jones (B.M., Columbus State, 2007) has been selected for the position of Assistant Professor of Music at Florida Atlantic University, where he will teach trumpet and lead the jazz program. Having completed his doctorate at UCLA under the supervision of Jens Lindemann, he served as Visiting Professor of Trumpet at the University of Iowa for two years. He is currently in Columbus working on a recording project and teaching Music Appreciation for CSU. Congratulations, Dr. Jones!

Monday, March 6, 2017

Guitar Students Win 1st, 2nd at CSU Guitar Symposium

The CSU Guitar Symposium recently completed its 18th year of performances, classes, and competitions for performers at all levels. CSU students Dragos Ilie and Ying Xu won 1st and 2nd prizes respectively out of 50 competitors in their division. They are students of Dr. Andrew Zohn who holds the Jo and George Jeter Distinguished Chair in Guitar.

Violin Student Recognized at International Concerto Competition

Congratulations to graduate violinist Elzbieta Tokarska, who was awarded 2nd Prize at the 2017 American Festival Fine Arts International Concerto Competition. Her award includes a performance in the Winners Concert at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and an appearance as soloist with the Kostroma Symphony Orchestra performing the Korngold Violin Concerto in Russia this summer. She is a student of Professor Sergiu Schwartz, who holds the William B. and Sue Marie Turner Distinguished Chair in Violin.

Schwob Students Take Top Awards at Atlanta Music Club

The Atlanta Music Club announced Saturday that three of its six scholarship competition winners came from Columbus State University. Winners in the graduate piano and instrumental divisions were pianist Alexey Trushechkin and violinist Natalia Klenovskaya. Winner in the undergraduate instrumental division was bassoonist Traian Sturza.  They are students of Professors Alexander Kobrin, Sergiu Schwartz, and Stephanie Patterson. Congratulations to all!

Monday, February 6, 2017

Trombonist Advances to National Round of Edward Kleinhammer Competition

Congratulations to Stephen Clayton, student of Dr. Brad Palmer, who was one of three contestants to advance to the final round of the Edward Kleinhammer Orchestral Bass Trombone Competition, sponsored by the International Trombone Association.

Bassoon Student Places in Two National Competitions

Congratulations to Traian Sturza, Woodruff Scholar and bassoon student of Dr. Stephanie Patterson, who won 2nd place in the Leitzinger Competition at Bard College in New York state in January. He will return to Bard to perform the Weber Concerto with the Bard Symphony.

Traian also placed third recently in the Jefferson Symphony International Young Artists Competition in Golden, CO. Started in 1959, this one-day competition has evolved into a gathering of international musicians competing for substantial cash awards.

CSU Music Education Student Recognized by University System

Congratulations to Amy Melton, Honors Music Education major and senior horn student of Dr. Natalie Higgins, who has been selected as Columbus State University's 2016 representative at the University System of Georgia's Academic Recognition Day. Created in 1987, Academic Recognition Day celebrates the individual academic achievements of outstanding scholars in the University System.

2011 Columbus State University